PRESS RELEASE



11.06.2017

Junge Akademie enriched by entry of ten new members

The *Junge Akademie* consists of 50 members. On 10 June 2017, ten outstanding new members joined the ranks of the academy for emerging scientific talent | New Board inaugurated

The *Junge Akademie* welcomed ten new members during its annual celebration on 10 June 2017. The newest members hail from many and diverse disciplines, from chemistry to art history, and include a sinologist, a philosopher, a chemist, and a psychologist, to name just a few.

Junge Akademie board member and head of the selection commission Wolfram Pernice is satisfied with the selection: "We received excellent applications and it was not easy for the commission to choose upon the new members." Just as the other members of the *Junge Akademie*, Pernice is now looking forward the interdisciplinary collaboration with the new members.



Martin Dresler, Anna Lisa Ahlers, Eva Buddeberg, Sebastian Matzner, Nausikaä El-Mecky, Robert Kretschmer, Frauke Rostalski, Lena Hipp and Michael Bies (left to right). Marco Schmidt is not on the picture. picture: Joerg Lipskoch

During their five years as members of the *Junge Akademie*, the newly elected members will work together with the other 40 members to conduct interdisciplinary research, participate in research groups on topics such as "Internationalisation", "Art as Research" or "Visualisation", and contribute to efforts at the intersection between science and society. One of the first projects the new members will

Die Junge Akademie an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina · Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Jägerstr. 22/23 · D-10117 Berlin · Tel: +49 (030) 203 70-453 · Fax: -680 · presse@diejungeakademie.de www.diejungeakademie.de · www.facebook.com/diejungeakademie · @Junge_Akademie



have the chance to contribute to will be a podium discussion of the Research Group "Science Policy" on 21 June 2017 in Berlin.

The Junge Akademie is delighted to welcome its new members:

Anna Lisa Ahlers, Contemporary China Studies/Sinology, born 1982, University of Oslo, Department of Culture Studies and Oriental Languages (IKOS) Michael Bies, Modern German Literature, born 1979, Free University Berlin, Peter Szondi Institute of Comparative Literature Eva Buddeberg, Philosophy, born 1975, Goethe University Frankfurt/Main, Faculty of Social Sciences | Institute of Political Science Martin Dresler, Cognitive Neuroscience, born 1975, Radboud University Medical Centre Nijmegen, Donders Institute for Brain, Cognition and **Behaviour** Nausikaä El-Mecky, Art History, born 1983, University Heidelberg | Heidelberg School of Education (HSE) Lena Hipp, Sociology, born 1977, Berlin Social Science Center (WZB), Robert Kretschmer, Anorganic Chemistry, born 1984, University Regensburg, Institute of Inorganic Chemistry Sebastian Matzner, Classical Philology and Comparative Literature, born 1982, King's College London, Department of Comparative Literature Frauke Rostalski, Legal Studies, born 1985, Philipps University Marburg, Faculty of Law Marco F.H. Schmidt, Psychology, born 1980, Ludwig Maximilians University Munich, Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences

The Junge Akademie consists of 50 members. The prerequisites for membership include the completion of an outstanding doctoral dissertation as well as of an additional high-quality publication or work of art. Members are in general selected from the German-speaking region. Every year, ten members join the ranks of alumni and ten new members are elected to enter the Junge Akademie. The election of members is conducted on a rotating basis by the BBAW and Leopoldina on the one hand, and by the Junge Akademie on the other hand. Membership selection for 2017/2018 was conducted in

Die Junge Akademie an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina · Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit



early 2017 by the *Junge Akademie*. The next selection process will be conducted by the parent academies in early 2018.

New Board inaugurated

During the celebrations, the new Board of the *Junge Akademie* was inaugurated and took up its oneyear term in office.

The Board is made up of the following members: physicist and electrical engineer **Wolfram Pernice** (University of Münster), psychologist Jule Specht (Humboldt University Berlin), historian Christoph Lundgreen (Technical University Dresden), musicologist and sound artist Miriam Akkermann (University Bayreuth), and mathematician and statistician Jonas Peters (University of Copenhagen) (left to right).



picture: Joerg Lipskoch



The new **Speaker** of the *Junge Akademie* is Jule Specht.

For more information, please visit: <u>https://www.diejungeakademie.de/en/members/</u> <u>https://www.diejungeakademie.de/en/about-us/board/</u>

The Junge Akademie was founded in 2000 as first academy for the new academic generation worldwide. The members of the Junge Akademie, young academics and artists from German-speaking countries, are dedicated to interdisciplinary discourse and are active at the interfaces between academia and society. The Junge Akademie is supported by the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. The office is located in Berlin.

Contact

Anja Spiller | Tel.: +49 (0) 30 203 70-453 | presse@diejungeakademie.de

Die Junge Akademie an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina · Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Jägerstr. 22/23 · D-10117 Berlin · Tel: +49 (030) 203 70-453 · Fax: -680 · presse@diejungeakademie.de www.diejungeakademie.de · www.facebook.com/diejungeakademie · @Junge_Akademie