

Press Release

Contact

Anne Rohloff Academic Co-ordinator, Public Relations

press@diejungeakademie.de

Jägerstraße 22/23 10117 Berlin

T +49 30 241899 - 106 **F** +49 30 241899 - 101

Berlin, 10.06.2025

Ten new members join *Die Junge Akademie* Fresh ideas for interdisciplinary cooperation

On 7 June 2025, as part of its annual celebration, *Die Junge Akademie* welcomed ten young scientists and artists into its ranks as members while simultaneously celebrating its 25th anniversary.



Back row from left to right: Senem Gökçe Oğultekin, Philip Schwartz, Maciej Chmara, Maximilian Schäfer, Nicholas Güsken | Front row from left to right: Hannah Ruschemeier, Franziska Traube, Susanne Schmidt, Sarah Klosterkamp, Lea Luka Sikau

Photo: Die Junge Akademie/Bernd Brundert

During their five-year membership period, the new members have the chance to initiate interdisciplinary research projects and working groups, and to participate in existing activities regarding issues such as climate change, language, and science policy. The 50 members work and research together in an interdisciplinary way and benefit from an ever-growing network of outstanding scientists, academics, and artists. Alongside their research, they jointly work on formats where science, art, and society overlap, and offer fresh ideas on shaping the scientific and academic system.

The ten new members are:

• Maciej Chmara, Design, Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg

- Nicholas Güsken, Experimental Solid-State Physics, Paderborn University
- Sarah Klosterkamp, Human Geography, Goethe University Frankfurt
- Senem Gökçe Oğultekin, Choreography/Performance/Film
- Hannah Ruschemeier, Law, FernUniversität in Hagen
- Maximilian Schäfer, Electrical Engineering, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
- Susanne Schmidt, History of Science, University of Basel
- Philip Schwartz, Mathematics and theoretical physics, Leibniz University Hannover
- Lea Luka Sikau, Media Art and Experimental Opera, ZKM Center for Art and Media
- Franziska Traube, Biochemistry, University of Stuttgart

The ten members for 2025 were chosen by a commission consisting of *Junge Akademie* members. In even calendar years, the supporting academies of *Die Junge Akademie* – the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina and the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities – select the members.

"During interviews for the selection process, we get to know impressive personalities. We are sure that the new members will enrich *Die Junge Akademie* with their ideas, expertise, and enthusiasm for interdisciplinary work," said Gisela Kopp and Pascal Langenbach, chairpersons of *Die Junge Akademie*'s selection committee.

In addition to welcoming the new members, the 2020 class was also given a farewell. As alumni, they remain part of *Die Junge Akademie*'s network and can participate in the academy's activities as guests.

Further information about the application procedure and membership is available here: diejungeakademie.de/en/mitglied-werden

More detailed information about all members of *Die Junge Akademie* is available here: **diejungeakademie.de/en/members**

Die Junge Akademie

2/2

at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

Die Junge Akademie was founded in 2000 as the world's first academy for outstanding young academics. Its members – who come from all academic disciplines as well as creative fields – explore the potential and limits of interdisciplinary work in new projects, aim to encourage dialogue between academia and society, and provide new impetus in discussions about scientific policy. *Die Junge Akademie* is supported by the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW) and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. Its office is located in Berlin.